|||
Home
Actions/Activities
Afflictions
Ancestries
Archetypes
Backgrounds
Classes
Conditions
Creatures
Equipment
Feats
Hazards
Rules
Setting
Skills
Spells/Rituals
Traits
Licenses
Sources
Contact Us
Contributors
Support the Archives
Maximize Menu
Archives of Nethys
Afflictions
Character Creation +
Ancestries
Archetypes
Backgrounds
Classes
Feats
Skills
Creatures
Equipment
Setting
Spells/Rituals
Rules +
Actions/Activities
Conditions
Rules
Traits
Hazards
Sources
About the Archives +
Licenses
Contact Us
Contributors
Support the Archives
Toggle Theme
Archives of Nethys
Rules Index
|
GM Screen
|
Player's Guide
Chapter 7: Spells
/
Casting Spells
/
Spell Components
Focus
Source
Core Rulebook pg. 303
2.0
A focus is an object that funnels the magical energy of the spell. The spell gains the
manipulate
trait and requires you to either have a free hand to retrieve the focus listed in the spell or already be holding the focus in your hand. As part of Casting the Spell, you retrieve the focus (if necessary), manipulate it, and can stow it again if you so choose.
Foci tend to be expensive, and you need to acquire them in advance to Cast the Spell.