Rules Index | GM Screen | Player's Guide


Chapter 11: Crafting & Treasure / Consumables / Scrolls

Casting a Spell from a Scroll

Source Core Rulebook pg. 564 2.0
Casting a Spell from a scroll requires holding the scroll in one hand and activating it with a Cast a Spell activity using the normal number of actions for that spell.

To Cast a Spell from a scroll, the spell must appear on your spell list. Because you’re the one Casting the Spell, use your spell attack roll and spell DC. The spell also gains the appropriate trait for your tradition (arcane, divine, occult, or primal).

Any physical material components and costs are provided when a scroll is created, so you don’t need to provide them when Casting a Spell from a scroll. You must replace any required material component for that spell with a somatic component. If the spell requires a focus, you must have that focus to Cast the Spell from a scroll.