All | Abilities | Families
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Typical barghests are ravenous gluttons of life who feed and grow on the fat of mortals, their bodies changing in ways none can predict as they use the flesh and blood of their victims to achieve grisly transformations into greater barghests. Barghests often make use of their shapechanging abilities to rule tribes of goblinoids or to discreetly hunt in rural areas in the guise of unnaturally intelligent wolves. They do not work well together, as each barghest wants all the kills for itself; cannibalism is the typical result of too many barghests in one small area.

BarghestCreature 4

Source Bestiary pg. 36
Perception +12; darkvision, scent (imprecise) 30 feet
Languages Abyssal, Common, Goblin
Skills Acrobatics +10, Deception +12, Diplomacy +9, Intimidation +11, Stealth +10, Survival +8
Str +5, Dex +2, Con +3, Int +2, Wis +2, Cha +3
AC 21, Fort +11, Ref +12, Will +8
HP 50; Resistances fire 5, physical 5 (except magical)
Attack of Opportunity ReactionReaction
Speed 25 feet

All Monsters in "Barghest"

Greater Barghest7


Source Bestiary pg. 36
Barghests are lupine fiends with goblinoid faces and humanoid hands. They stalk the Material Plane in search of souls to sate their demonic hunger. Eons ago, barghests dwelled in the pits of Hell and served Asmodeus, but after Lamashtu abducted and adopted the four most powerful of their kind to serve as pets (and in time, as a pantheon of hero-gods worshipped by evil goblins), barghests’ loyalties and philosophical nature changed significantly. Today, while barghests retain their connection to goblinoids, they serve none but their own appetites.