Adventuring Gear
View all assistive items.
Assistive Items
View all types of contracts.
Contracts (4)
Cursed Items
View all types of customizations.
Customizations (4)
Intelligent Items
Magical Tattoos
View all types of services.
Services (6)
View all types of shields.
Shields (3)
Siege Weapons
View all types of wands.
Wands (3)
View all types of worn items.
Worn Items (5)

All Creatures
Abilities | Filter | Monsters | NPCs
All | Families | Templates
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


The most powerful of all rakshasas, maharajas form very rarely, never more than once or twice a century, and only from the reincarnated spirits of other powerful and wicked rakshasas. The birth of a new maharaja rakshasa is a momentous occasion, and less powerful rakshasas will seek to curry favor with the new maharaja at an early age. Each maharaja rakshasa is unique and boasts their own selection of spells. All are generally humanoid save for their many heads, which always number at least four and can range up to a dozen. One of these heads tends to be humanoid, while the others take the forms of cats, snakes, and other predatory animals.

Recall Knowledge - Fiend (Religion): DC 45

Elite | Normal | Weak
Proficiency without Level

MaharajaCreature 20

Source Bestiary 3 pg. 211
Perception +37; darkvision
Languages Abyssal, Common, Infernal, Undercommon; tongues
Skills Acrobatics +33, Arcana +33, Deception +41, Diplomacy +38, Intimidation +38, Lore +33 (any three), Occultism +35, Religion +35, Society +35
Str +8, Dex +9, Con +7, Int +7, Wis +7, Cha +10
Items +2 greater striking falchion
AC 45 all-around vision; Fort +31, Ref +33, Will +35; +2 status to all saves vs. magic, +3 status to all saves vs. divine magic
HP 320; Resistances physical 20 (except piercing); Weaknesses good 20
Reflect Spell ReactionReaction (abjuration, occult) Trigger A foe Casts a Spell the maharaja knows, and the maharaja rakshasa can see its manifestation; Effect The maharaja expends one of their spell slots to reflect the triggering creature's spell. The maharaja loses their spell slot as if they had cast the triggering spell, and then attempts to counteract it (counteract modifier +37, counteract level 10). On a success, the maharaja turns the spell back on its caster. The reflected spell affects only the caster, even if it's an area spell or would normally affect more than one creature. The original caster can attempt a save and use other defenses against the reflected spell as normal.
Speed 40 feet, fly 30 feet
Melee Single ActionSingle Action falchion +38 [+33/+28] (forceful, sweep), Damage 3d10+16 slashing plus 3d6 mentalMelee Single ActionSingle Action fangs +34 [+30/+26] (agile), Damage 4d6+14 piercingOccult Spontaneous Spells DC 47; 10th fabricated truth (1 slot); 9th dispel magic, foresight, overwhelming presence, telepathic demand, weird (4 slots); 8th discern location, dispel magic, maze, mind blank, prismatic wall (4 slots); 7th dispel magic, haste, possession, project image, reverse gravity (4 slots); 6th repulsion, scrying, true seeing, vampiric exsanguination (4 slots); 5th crushing despair, dispel magic, false vision, shadow blast, shadow walk (4 slots); 4th confusion, dimension door, dispel magic, modify memory, read omens (4 slots); 3rd dispel magic, enthrall, haste, hypercognition, nondetection (4 slots); 2nd darkness, dispel magic, misdirection, see invisibility (4 slots); 1st magic missile, sanctuary, true strike, ventriloquism (4 slots); Cantrips (9th) dancing lights, detect magic, ghost sound, mage hand, shield
Occult Innate Spells DC 47; 10th dominate; 9th clairaudience (at will), clairvoyance (at will), mind reading (at will); Constant (9th) tongues
Autonomous Spell Free ActionFree Action Frequency once per round; Trigger a foe's turn begins; Effect The maharaja's four heads allow them to quickly cast additional spells. They cast one of their 8th-level or lower occult spontaneous spells that normally takes 2 actions or fewer to cast.Change Shape Single ActionSingle Action (concentrate, occult, polymorph, transmutation) The maharaja takes on the appearance of any Medium humanoid. This doesn't change their Speed or their attack and damage modifiers with their Strikes but might change the damage type their Strikes deal (typically to bludgeoning). They lose their fangs Strike unless the humanoid form has fangs or a similar unarmed attack, and they lose Four-Fanged Assault unless the new form has four or more heads and fangs.Four-Fanged Assault Single ActionSingle Action The maharaja makes four fangs Strikes, each against a different target. These Strikes count as only one attack for the maharaja's multiple attack penalty, and the penalty doesn't increase until after they have made all four attacks.

All Monsters in "Rakshasa"

Raja Rakshasa10


Source Bestiary pg. 274
Rakshasas are evil spirits that cloak themselves in the guises of humanoid creatures, that they might walk unseen among their prey. They embody what is taboo among most societies, and in the shape of those they seek to defile, rakshasas gorge themselves on these hideous acts. A wide range of rakshasas exist; presented below are the diminutive, sinister dandasuka rakshasa and the infamous raja rakshasa, who are the most widespread and commonly encountered of these fiends.

Sidebar - Additional Lore Rakshasa Immortals

Above all rakshasas rule the rakshasa immortals, powerful unique entities who deem themselves deities. These beings include Aksha of the Second Breath, Bundha the Singing Butcher, Dradjit the Godslayer, Kunkarna the Dream Warrior, Mursha the Beastmaster, Otikaya the Spirit Archer, Surpa the Avenger, Zabha the Desecrator, and untold others.

Sidebar - Locations Rakshasa Locations

Rakshasas are one of the few types of fiends native to the Material Plane and aren't typically found on other planes. Instead, most rakshasas live in urban areas where humanoids congregate, supplying these fiends with a variety of mortals to prey upon and bend to their wills, as well as all the luxuries that humanoid society can offer.

Sidebar - Additional Lore Rakshasa Reincarnation

Rakshasas typically reincarnate after their deaths and retain hazy memories of their past lives. Successful and particularly wicked rakshasas take more powerful forms when reborn, while weak rakshasas reincarnate as lesser forms or even fail to reincarnate entirely.